Sign In Forgot Password

Youth Committee

Our goal is to engage children in grades 4–12 through programming and activities. This helps create bonds of friendship and foster a greater sense of Jewish community. Creative ideas and extra hands are always needed!

To volunteer or for more information, please email Jeremy and Barb at youthcommittee@orshalomlc.org.

Congregation Or Shalom strongly believes in the importance of informal social and learning opportunities for its students in addition to our structured class time. Three active youth groups enhance our students’ connection to one another and to our Jewish community.

Encourage your child to participate in youth group! For more information, please contact youth advisors Kevin and Allisa Horwitz at kevinandallisa@orshalomlc.org.

Club Or Shalom (4th & 5th grade students)
Wednesday, Sept. 26: Pizza-in-the-Hut Pizza Party, 6:30 – 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, October 14: American Ninja Warrior in Libertyville, 2 – 4 p.m.
Sunday, November 18: Dave & Buster’s, 1 – 3:30 p.m.
Wednesday, November 28: Pizza Party – Mitzvah Event, 6:30 – 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, February 2: Bowling & Laser Tag @Bowlero, 5:30 – 8 p.m. 
Wednesday, March 6: Pizza Party & Purim Skill games, 6:30 – 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, April 13: Top Chef Junior, 3rd grade welcome, 6 – 8 p.m. 

Junior Youth Group (JYG, 6th–8th grade students) 
Sunday, October 7: Dave & Buster’s, 1 – 3:30 p.m. 
Saturday, November 10: Nova Virtual Reality Lounge, 5:45 – 8 p.m.
Saturday, January 26: Sky Zone w/Jew Crew, 5:30 – 7:45 p.m.
Saturday, March 2: Escape Room @Or Shalom, 6 – 8:15 p.m.
Friday, March 8 – Sunday, March 10: NFTY JYG Kallah @OSRUI

Jew Crew (High School Youth Group):
Friday, August 17: Jew Crew Installation Service, 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, August 26: Jew Crew Board Meeting, 3 – 4:30 p.m.
    & Block Party, 4:30 – 6:30 p.m.
Monday, September 3: NFTY Kickoff
Friday, October 5 – Sunday, October 7: NFTY Fall Kallah @OSRUI
Saturday, October 13: Escape Room & Scavenger Hunt @Gurnee Mills
Sunday, November 4: Portillo’s Lunch & JCFS Coat Shopping Mitzvah Event
Sunday, November 18: Jew Crew/ Or Shalom 55+ Group Joint Event     (Evening)
Saturday, December 1: Whirlyball w/Champy 
    (includes Beth Am & Temple Chai)
Friday, January 18 – Sunday, January 20: NFTY Winter Kallah
Saturday, January 26: Jew Crew & JYG Sky Zone Event
Friday, March 8 – Saturday, March 9: Retreat @Great Wolf Lodge – Gurnee
Tuesday, March 19: Jew Crew Board 8th Grade Initiation
Sunday, April 7: Jew Crew Mitzvah Garden + TBA (Evening)
Friday, April 12 – Sunday, April 14: NFTY Spring Kolbo @OSRUI
Saturday, May 4: Jew Crew Spy Event in the City
Tuesday, May 14: Jew Crew Elections Dinner
Thursday, June 6: End of the Year Dinner

Fri, November 16 2018 8 Kislev 5779